On January 1st 2012, Baja California (Norte) began enforcing a new mandatory liability insurance law. Now all vehicles in Baja California - local, out of state, and foreign will be required to carry proof of liability insurance while driving.
Wasn't insurance already a requirement in Baja California?
Previously, having Mexican insurance or providing proof of financial responsibility (such as cash) was required if you were in an accident. With the new law, anyone not carrying a Mexican liability insurance policy at all times may be ticketed by authorities.
Do all Baja Bound insurance policies fulfill this new requirement?
Yes. All of Baja Bound's policies fulfill the new mandatory liability requirement.
Courtesy Translation of the New Law Specifically Regarding Foreign Vehicles
Baja Bound had a section of the law translated that mentions foreign registered vehicles must carry this coverage.
"Registered vehicles, out of state, or foreign vehicles must have liability insurance while driven in the State, which must at least cover the concepts and amounts stated in this article; otherwise the drivers will be sanctioned according to the terms of the applicable municipal regulations."
View the law online
at the website of the Congreso del Estado del Baja California.
What is the minimum liability requirement in Baja California?
According to the law (Artículo 18 BIS), the minimum liability coverage required to cover other people and their property is approximately $304,935 pesos*, which is about U.S. $18,481.00 based on an exchange rate of $16.50 (as of November 9, 2015).
Is this minimum requirement sufficient coverage?
In our experience, this is not sufficient in some cases. The lowest limit Baja Bound offers is U.S. $50,000 in third party liability. The highest we offer is U.S. $800,000.
Will authorities be able to enforce this law?
This remains to be seen. Before this law was enforced a few Baja Bound customers informed us that authorities have asked them for proof of insurance. This may increase. Many drivers in Mexico unfortunately cannot afford insurance which makes it hard to enforce.
Is there a similar law in Baja California Sur?
No, there is not a similar law in Baja Calfornia Sur according to Rafael Peña of the BCS State Tourism Board.
(*Found by multiplying the amount of 4,350 according to the law, by the current minimum wage of Baja California of $70.10 pesos).
Congreso del Estado de Baja California
Baja California Sur State Tourism Board
Updated: May 06, 2018 07:47 AM